Name and Define the Taxes Imposed on the Filipino by the Spanish Government

Taxes are used to build our roads to bridges, construction of public buildings and to maintain the country’s security, trade, and governance.

Here are the lists of taxes imposed by Spanish Government to the Philippines:

Tribute – was a form of taxation implemented by the Spanish government in the Philippines to support government and church operations. The Tribute taxes were obliged Filipinos to pay as a sign of loyalty to the King of Spain.

Cedula  –  The Cedula during the Spanish colonial period, was an identification card and residence tax certificate that had to be carried at all times. A person who could not present his or her cedula could be arrested and imprisoned by the Guardia Civil. This type of tax was replaced when Tribute was abolished in 1184.

Sanctorium – a tax of three reales was collected by the government but turned over to the Church, for the use of the church.A tax collected for Church purposes. It is already included in Tribute.

Donativo de Zamboanga – imposed in most provinces between 1635 and in the middle of the 19th century. The tax is used for a conquest of Jolo and the campaigns against the Muslim pirates. Mainly this tax collection was used to crush the Moro raids.

Vinta – a tax of one-half real or one ganta of rice a year, to be used in financing coastal patrols around metro manila and in the western coast of Luzon.

Diezmos  Prediales or Tithes – The diezmos prediales was a tax consisting of one-tenth (1/10) of the products of one’s land.



Tags : Spanish GovernmentTaxes
Close Bitnami banner